Like The Jewish Journal on Facebook!

Published Thursday, June 2, 2016

Honoring Robert Salter and Jerry Somers at CHA

Pictured above are (l-r): Jerry Somers, Barry Shrage of CJP, and Robert Salter

“To Renew” is the theme of Cohen Hillel Academy’s upcoming annual meeting, representing a special evening of recognition and tribute, honoring leaders, volunteers and staff.

Robert Salter will be the recipient of the Ernie Haas Presidential Award. Salter’s leadership in the community includes having served as president of Temple Emanu-El in Marblehead and the Jewish Federation of the North Shore. He and his wife Ruthie, parents of three Hillel graduates, reside in Swampscott. The award is named in memory of Ernie Haas, a loyal and active supporter of the school for over 40 years.

Jerry Somers will receive a Leadership Award for his work in helping to move the school forward and his chairmanship of the Committee on Excellence. Jerry, a retired partner from Goodwin Procter LLP, has served as a member of the Board of Directors for the Jim Joseph Foundation and has been instrumental in securing for Cohen Hillel, and other North Shore agencies, numerous scholarships and campership funds, as well as funding for the establishment of the North Shore Teen Initiative (NSTI). He also has served as Chair of the Board for the Union of Reform Judaism. Jerry and his wife Margie reside in Swampscott.

Special tribute will be paid to longtime, respected educators Lynne Havusha and Barbara Sidman, along with Mary Clough and Beth Tassinari for their years of service with the school. As Director of Student Services, Lynne Havusha has helped to ensure that all students are supported and helped to meet their potential. Barbara Sidman has taught hundreds of kindergarten students in her 25 years at Cohen Hillel and has been a valuable resource to scores of parents as their children embark on their formal educational journey.

Hillel’s 2016-2017 officers include Robert Salter, chairman; Ariel Berger, president; Jessica Black and Mark Farber, vice presidents; Miriam Blue, secretary; and Rosalie Miller, treasurer. New board members include Bernie Horowitz, David Pliner, Anne Selby, Zachary Shwartz and Tamar Skowronski.

The annual meeting is open to the entire community, followed by a dessert reception on Wednesday, June 8, at 7:30 p.m. RSVPs appreciated: 781-639-2880.

Share Share

Return to Youth →